Skip to product information
1 of 2

Sufjan Stevens & Angelo de Augustine - A Beginner's Mind

Vinyl LP, Asthmatic Kitty

Regular price $21.98
Regular price Sale price $21.98
Sale Sold Out

Vinyl LP pressing. 2021 release. It's been said that writing about music is like dancing about architecture (impossible and absurd). But what about singing about movies? Sufjan Stevens and Angelo de Augustine have paired up for a collaborative project that does just that. A Beginner's Mind is their debut album that contains 14 songs (loosely) based on (mostly) popular films. The source material is highbrow, lowbrow, and everything in between. The music is folksy, sweet, sincere and harmonically effervescent-Simon & Garfunkel with New Age flourishes. This album runs the gamut and has fun with it, even while it's songwriters remain fully rooted in the melancholy folk idioms they are known for. Daniel Anum Jasper, a pioneer of Ghanian movie poster painting, was commissioned to paint a series of new works for A Beginner's Mind. His paintings are a graphic simulacrum for the same sense of wonder, wordplay, and intrigue that shape A Beginner's Mind. By transforming old films into vital new songs, Stevens and de Augustine ask us to consider ourselves from a previously unconsidered vantage point-a new way of seeing and hearing-an exercise that's as necessary and relevant now as it's ever been.

1 Reach Out
2 Lady MacBeth in Chains
3 Back to Oz
4 The Pillar of Souls
5 You Give Death a Bad Name
6 Beginner's Mind
7 Olympus
8 Murder and Crime
9 (This Is) the Thing
10 It's Your Own Body and Mind
11 Lost in the World
12 Fictional California
13 Cimmerian Shade
14 Lacrimae

Local Pickup & Delivery

Local pickup & delivery available in Downtown Santa Ana & Old Towne Orange. We ship worldwide! *FREE shipping to anywhere in the US on orders over $60. Shipping Policy

Hassle-Free Returns

We'll make it right, please read our Return Policy

Do you have a question?

Text/Call 714-788-4016, Mon - Sat (10 AM - 5 PM PST) or send an email to