Skip to product information
1 of 2

Fruit Bats - Sometimes a Cloud Is Just a Cloud...

Vinyl LP, Merge

Regular price $29.98
Regular price Sale price $29.98
Sale Sold Out

Eric D. Johnson, the creative force behind Fruit Bats, doesn't spend a lot of time looking in the rearview mirror. But with the 20th anniversary of his first Fruit Bats release (2001's Echolocation) on his mind, it seemed as good a time as any to take stock of his work-and he's doing so in the form of Sometimes a Cloud Is Just a Cloud: Slow Growers, Sleeper Hits and Lost Songs (2001-2021), a two-disc collection that tracks the history of Fruit Bats from it's earliest days to right now. Thoughtfully compiled by Johnson himself, this set is split in two distinct halves. Set in reverse chronological order, the first disc cherry-picks from Fruit Bats' official releases, including fan favorites-"Humbug Mountain Song" from 2016's Absolute Loser and "The Bottom of It" from his 2019 Merge debut Gold Past Life-alongside some of Johnson's more personal choices like "Glass in Your Feet" from Echolocation.

- Disc 1 -
1 Rips Me Up
2 The Bottom of It
3 Cazadera
4 Humbug Mountain Song
5 Absolute Loser
6 The Rock Doc
7 You're Too Weird
8 Flamingo
9 Born in the '70S (Live in Portland)
10 When U Love Somebody (Live at Spacebomb)
11 Glass in Your Feet
- Disc 2 -
1 Without Any Airs
2 Barely Living Room (Demo)
3 Baby Bluebird (Waltz Demo)
4 Hot Dogs
5 Wacs
6 When the Stars Are Out
7 Aces
8 The Joker
9 Feather Bed (Demo)
10 Goodnight Sun & Hello Moon
11 Rainbow Sign (4-Track Demo)
12 The Old Black Hole (4-Track Demo)

Local Pickup & Delivery

Local pickup & delivery available in Downtown Santa Ana. We ship worldwide! *FREE shipping to anywhere in the US on orders over $60. Shipping Policy

Hassle-Free Returns

We'll make it right, please read our Return Policy

Do you have a question?

Text/Call 714-788-4016, Mon - Sat (10 AM - 5 PM PST) or send an email to